A Song For B

August 17, 2009




Heyyy here’s the new piece I said I was going to post a week or so ago. I made this for a friend’s birthday. Collaged & drawn with photoshop & illustrator. All my own photos!

I say this with an exclamation point, as in most of the pieces I did at school I relied very heavily on stock photo communities (Stock.xchng is a great site for user-supplied photography), as I am not the most skilled photographer out there, and there are only so many pieces you can scrape out of pictures of trees and farmland. And I am trying to prove I can make work entirely from scratch/would like the possibility of selling my work some day. Many people posting stock do so explicitly to help artists, but I have a lot of crediting penance to do before I feel comfortable image mining from the web again. There’s a tendency in fine art to call everything “found imagery” and move on that I am totally culpable of. I am trying to be a more conscientious borrower!

Don’t be like me! Keep track of your credits while you use them, or you’ll find yourself trying to go back and hunt down media you used two years ago!

The Webfolio Updated with…everything I posted here first.

Leave a Reply

